congratulations to the parliamentary jazz award winners!

List of winners

The winners at the 2016 APPJAG (Parliamentary) Jazz Awards sponsored by PPL were announced earlier this evening at the Awards ceremony in the Terrace Pavilion of the Houses of Parliament. Co-Chairs of APPJAG are Jason McCartney MP and Lord Colwyn. 

Jazz Vocalist of the Year

Emilia Mårtensson – Winner
Ian Shaw

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year

Alexander Hawkins – Winner
Django Bates
Evan Parker
Liam Noble

Jazz Album of the Year

Julian Argüelles Let It Be Told – Winner
Liam Noble  A Room Somewhere
Liane Carroll  Seaside

Jazz Ensemble of the Year

Empirical – Winner
Loose Tubes
The Printmakers

Jazz Newcomer of the Year

Binker and Moses – Winner
Corrie Dick
Theon Cross

Jazz Venue of the Year

Seven Jazz Leeds – Winner
Jazz Re:freshed Mau Mau Bar London
Watermill Jazz Dorking

Jazz Media Award

Jez Nelson/BBC Jazz on 3 – Winner
Chris Philips
Jazz In London/Mary Greig
Richard Williams

Jazz Education Award

Dr Tommy Smith – Winner
Gary Crosby/Tomorrow’s Warriors
Jamil Sheriff

Services to Jazz Award

Mary Greig – Winner
Evan Parker
Michael Janisch

Special APPJAG Award

Evan Parker  – Winner
Michael Connarty –  Winner

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.