The Bulls Head, Barnes

September 2016 Programme

Thursday 1/09/16 ChairMen Of The Board 

Five-piece Jazz-Swing & Blues outfit

Friday 2/09/16 Sugar T & The Swells 8pm

Inspired by the Jump Blues and classic R n’ B of the 50s & 60s

Saturday 3/09/16 Karen Lane & Simon Woolf in a Tribute To Nancy Wilson 8pm 

Sunday 4/09/16 Sunday Lunchtime Sessions  2:30pm 

Semi-acoustic trio with highly atmospheric stomping and hollering repertoire of Delta blues & country

Monday 5/09/16 Papa George and friends 8:30pm 

Internationally acclaimed London bluesman Papa George

Tuesday 6/09/16 Steeling Dan and Don 8:30pm  

Steely Dan Tribute Band

Wednesday 7/09/16 Way Out West presents The Mike Outram Trio 

Featuring Mike Outram guitar, Steve Lawson bass and Emre Ramazanoglu drums

Thursday 8/09/16 Alan Price 8:30pm 

Legendary former member of the 60’s group, The Animals, (Alan was the keyboard player on their huge hit ‘House Of The Rising Sun’) 

Friday 9/09/16 The UK Harmonica Blues Blowout 8:30pm

The very first outing of this authentic American traditional blues style session, showcases three of the nation’s top Blues harmonica artists

Saturday 10/09/16 The Simon Spillet Quartet 8:30pm

Playing the Music Of Tubby Hayes

Sunday 11/09/16 Aydenne Simone with The Liam Stevens Trio 2:30pm

The Ellie Bignall Quintet 7:30pm

the quintet plays predominantly jazz standards of the forties and fifties with a modern twist

Monday 12/09/16 Stormy Monday Club Present 8:30pm

An Evening Of New Orleans Jazz & Blues Featuring pianist Tim Penn

Tuesday 13/09/16 Folk Fusion 8:30pm

Folk Fusion Night Featuring Headliner Sam Carter, named Best Newcomer at the 2010 BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 

Wednesday 14/09/16 Way Out West Presents The Alex Hutton Quartet 8:30pm

feat. John Garner – violin, Alex Hutton piano, John Garner violin, Dave Whitford bass, Asaf Sirkis drums. The quartet will be performing Ale…

Thursday 15/09/16 Alex Curtis Quartet 8:30pm

features Alex Curtis on Piano, Jon Shenoy on Saxophones and Bass Clarinet, Sophie Alloway on Drums and Dave O’Brien on Bass. 

Friday 16/09/16 Art Themen Quartet 8:30pm

Saturday 17/09/16 Nate Najar Remembers Charlie Byrd 8:30pm

Accomplished American guitarist and Charlie Byrd devotee with his trio 

Sunday 18/09/16 Georgia & The Vintage Youth 2:30pm

Jazz, Cabaret, Burlesque and anything vintage! 

Tuesday 20/09/16 The Humphrey Lyttelton Band 8:30pm

presenting Humph’s music whilst showcasing his vast music library 

Wednesday 21/09/16 Way Out West Presents Tim Whitehead’s Personal Standards 8:30pm

Featuring Tim Whitehead vocals, tenor & soprano saxes, bass clarinet, Jonathon Gee piano, Oli Hayhurst bass & Eddie Hick drums

Thursday 22/09/16 Loire Funk Allstars 8:30pm 

Loire Funk Allstars: Drummer Tristan Mailliot’s jazz funk outfit named out of the big jazz summer school he runs every summer in the Loire region of France.

Friday 23/09/16  Blues & Soul Patrol 8:30pm

Playing a mixture of original material together with their own superb interpretation of tunes by the likes of Curtis Mayfield, Joe Louis Walker and Gamble & Huff

Saturday 24/09/16  Mississippi Swamp Dogs  8:30pm

Top swing trombonist and vocalist Jeff Williams and his marvellous five-piece New Orleans flavoured outfit with a riotous mix of Cajun-Funk, Soul Shuffle, Blues & Latin Rhythms, who…

Sunday 25/09/16  Barnes Blues Band Sunday Lunch Session 2:00pm

BBB deliver high calibre rock blues and was formed by vocalist and guitarist Bobby Tench (best known for his work with The Jeff Beck Group, Humble Pie, Streetwalkers and Hummingbird) at...

Sunday 25/09/16 NYJO Nonet  8:00pm

Playing the Music Of Jerome Kern: Led by tenor saxophonist Tom Stone

Monday 26/09/16 Stormy Monday Club Present 8:30pm

Stormy Monday Club Present Back To The Flamingo Club with The Alan Glen /John O’Leary Flamingo Allstars

Tuesday 27/09/16 Sax Appeal 8:30pm

Thirty-five years on and still going strong, the British Jazz Award-winning Sax Appeal features five of the UK’s leading saxophonists and a world class rhythm section

Wednesday 28/09/16 Way Out West Presents British Standard Time 8:30pm

Featuring Chris Biscoe soprano, alto & baritone saxes & alto clarinet, Alan Barnes alto & baritone saxes & clarinet, John Horler piano, Dave Green bass, Dave Barry Drums

Thursday 29/09/16 Never The Bride 8:30pm

A band lead by a whirlwind duo of female energy and ecstasy 

Friday 30/09/16 Reach For It 8:30pm

A musical celebration of the master keyboardist, singer, composer, all-round genius and great guy George Duke

Venue Details