Tom Farmer

Bassist Tom Farmer is a member of British jazz group Empirical, which formed in 2007, involving three other young British jazz musicians Nathaniel Facey (alto saxophone), Shaney Forbes (drums) and Lewis Wright (vibraphone).The group performs their own compositions and improvisations, with each member being given equal responsibility for the direction of the music in composition and improvisation. They have been presenting projects, performances and recordings continuously since 2007, their debut album, Empirical, came out in 2009. In 2016 they won the Parliamentary Jazz Awards for Best Ensemble.